Islam a way of Life

Dina Essawy

03 Sep 2018

Becoming a Muslim is more than simply praying five times a day and fasting every Ramadan. Islam is a way of life, a positive attitude and outlook on everything around you, and a commitment to Allah as well. This all begins with reciting the shahada (that there is no god but Allah and the Muhammad (PBUH) is his Messenger).

First and foremost, you have to be aware of your relationship with Allah, His will, and His commands. The five pillars of Islam: shahada, salah (prayer), zakat (charity), sawm (fasting), and hajj (pilgrimage). The five pillars were dictated by Allah in order to guarantee that Muslims would remain committed to Islam and that they would always care for each other.

The system of Zakat was put into place to support Muslim in need and to make sure that the entire Muslim population would stand by one another.

"And We made them leaders guiding by Our command. And We inspired to them the doing of good deeds, establishment of prayer, and giving of zakah; and they were worshippers of Us." [Al-Anbya, 73]

As for fasting, the true purpose behind it is for Muslims to disconnect with pleasures of this world and better connect to the afterlife and Allah. It also allows Muslims to feel for their underprivileged brothers and sisters in Islam, to understand what they may be going through and to be more compassionate towards them.

"O you who have believed, decreed upon you is fasting as it was decreed upon those before you that you may become righteous." [Al-Baqarah, 183]

Some things are banned for Muslims, such as taking drugs and drinking alcohol, and that is because these practices are harmful to the body. Every decree in Islam carries a specific purpose that is meant for the good of mankind, so to become a Muslim, you must be aware that Muslims are urged to become one family, working together for the betterment of society and for the worship of Allah.

 Learn Quran Surat Al Bakarah

Learn Quran: Surat Al Bakarah

Surat Al-Bakarah is the second and longest chapter or surah in the holy Quran. It has 289 verses, 6,201 words and 25,500 letters. Its name ‘Al-Bakarah’ means The Cow. The recitation of Surat Al Bakarah has many benefits for Muslims, the most important of which is that Surat Al Bakarah protects those who recite it from the devil and the evil eye. It is known to ward off the devil from the house in which it is recited for three days.

 Learn the Quran with Tajweed Rules: The Meem Sakinah

Learn Quran with Tajweed Rules: The Meem Sakinah

In order to learn Quran with tajweed you have to encounter the Meem Sakinah and apply its three different tajweed rules for pronunciation: Idgham with Ghunnah, Oral Ikhfaa also known as Ikhfaa Shafawi إخفاء شفوي and Oral Izhar, also known as Izhar shafawi إظهار شفوي.

 Learn Arabic words and phrases: Arabic Numbers (Six to Ten)

Learn Arabic words and phrases: Arabic Numbers (Six to Ten)

We established in part 1 of this article that learning numbers in any language is essential, but since there are an infinite amount of numbers, we will start off with the basics, with which you can form any number. In this article we will continue to learn Arabic numbers from where we left off in our article, ‘Learn Arabic words and phrases: Arabic Numbers (Zero to Five)’. Now we we’ll learn how to write and pronounce Arabic numbers from 6 to 10.